Home Cricket T20 Blowout: Will Jack scores 70 from 24 balls as Sarri beat...

T20 Blowout: Will Jack scores 70 from 24 balls as Sarri beat Middlesex


Surrey’s Will Jacks only took 15 balls to make his 50 in the Lords, smashing eights, fours and sixes.

Will Jacks broke the third-fastest English T20 cricketer from 15 of 15 balls – Surrey also beat his Middlesex rivals.

On the one night that Lancashire had two North Group wins out of two, and Yorkshire and Gloucestershire also won, Surrey’s win at Lords in the London derby was top of the list.

Their total number of 223-7 was the highest in 17 years and 72 matches of T20 combat at the English cricket headquarters.

The cranes paved the way for the fastest T2050 in England 11 years ago.

He was the first to come out in ninth with 95, having hit 70 from 24 balls, including the first 50 from just 15 deliveries.

Yuvraj Singh (for India against England in Durban in 2007, including his famous six years from Stuart Broad) and Chris Gayle (for Melbourne Renegades at the Adelaide Strikers home in 2016) together hold the record for fastest half-century in T20 cricket at just 12 balls .

But only two goals were scored faster in the English T20, by Marcus Trixkothick (13 balls, for Somerset against Hampshire at Taunton in 2010) and Yorkshire goalkeeper Gerard Brophy (14 balls, against Derbyshire in 2006).

It was too much for Middlesex as Sarri also broke Lord’s record in the T20.

This new T20 top score surpassed the Lord’s 218-5 that the Brown Caps had on Earth in 2020, which matches 218-7 in 2006.

Jack hit five sixes and nines fours, bolstered by 45 of 42 relatively restricted balls by England World Cup winner Jason Roy.

Once Paul Stirling ran out for 58 out of 87 by Tom Curran in the ninth round, it was an uphill battle for Middlesex.

And although Jordan Clark took the lead wicket for one-day England captain Owen Morgan, Sam Curran eventually snatched 4-29 as Sarri finished short at 169-9 to lose 55 points.

Australian superstar Marnus Labuschagne finished just seven a century after making his Glamorgan T20 debut
Australian superstar Marnus Labuschagne finished just seven years after making his debut in the Glamorgan T20

In the evening’s other southern group game, Marnus Labuschagne was very close to Glamorgan Champion where they lost by only four games Gloucestershire in Cardiff.

South African Glenn Phillips finished first with 44 goals, bringing the number of visitors to 179-6.

Australia’s Test and ODI’s international Laboshagny kept his side in him with 10 sixty-fours in his unbeaten 93 off 56 ball play – but, despite a brave last wicket stand with Prem Sisodia, they failed.

Lancashire out and running

Lancashire Lightning They’re going with great guns in the County Championship this season – or at least they were until they lost to Labuschagne and Glamorgan last week.

And they’ve also started really well in T20. The Lightning took home two wins on consecutive nights when they got rid of it Leicestershire foxes Before 15 rounds to see a six-wicket win on Wednesday over Derbyshire.

New Zealand and Finland international Allen smashed 73 of 51 unbeaten balls as the hosts scored 172-8 – more than he achieved against Derbyshire.

And despite no 54 exits from opener Scott Steel, as well as cameos from Josh Inglis (34 of 19) and Rishi Patel (32 of 17), the Foxes’ winning bid ran out.

Yorkshire Vikings He also got their campaign off to a successful start with a comfortable win of six wickets Birmingham Bears in Leeds.

Jordan Thompson (3-23), Matthew Witt (2-36) and David Wylie (2-27) were on the wicket as the bear count was capped at 144-8.

Sam Hain was his top player at 59, well supported by former Yorkshire and England player Tim Bresnan (23).

Johnny Bairstow then scored the Vikings’ highest goal score with 34 from 22 balls, and shared 59 in the second wicket with fellow Englishman David Malan, as the hosts won 147-4 with nine balls remaining.

What’s Next?

Friday matches

North group

Durham – Yorkshire (Chester-Lee Street, 18:30 GMT)

Leicestershire – Derbyshire (Leicester, 18:30 GMT)

Northants – Worcestershire (Northampton, 19:00 GMT)

Knots – Birmingham Bears (Trent Bridge, 18:30 GMT)

south group

Essex – Hampshire (Chelmsford, 19:00 GMT)

Gloucestershire – Sussex (Bristol, 18:30 GMT)

Kent – Middlesex (Canterbury, 19:00 GMT)

Somerset – Surrey (Taunton, 18:30 GMT)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here