Home Rugby Leinster 38-7 Dragons: Fans return as Leinster season ends with a comfortable...

Leinster 38-7 Dragons: Fans return as Leinster season ends with a comfortable win


1,200 fans are back on RDS to watch Leinster’s last game of the season
Leinster (19) 38
Try: O’Brien, Rangerose, Larmore 2, Bird, Penny Negatives: R Bern 4
7 Dragon
Try: S Davis With: S Davis

Leinster brought the curtain down on their season with an easy victory over the Dragons in front of 1,200 returning fans at RDS.

For the first time in this campaign, fans were allowed to return to Dublin Stadium to watch their team score a routine victory.

Jordan Larmore scored twice, while Jimmy O’Brien, Gary Ringrose, Ryan Bird and Scott Penny crossed.

Sam Davies was the Dragons’ only scorer as they fell to a fourth consecutive loss.

Having retained the Pro14 title for the fourth year in a row, Leinster were in the unusual position of entering the final game of the season with nothing on the line, with Benetton already taking the Northern League Rainbow Cup top spot.

But the spectator’s return provided enough motivation for the hosts, who took the lead quickly after just five minutes when O’Brien slid into the corner.

RDS fans
The game has been selected as a government beta event to bring viewers back to sports venues

The impressive result came 10 minutes later when Leinster broke from inside a 22, as Jamieson Gibson-Park and Larmore combined to send out Rangers.

Larmore, who is likely to be named in Andy Farrell’s Ireland squad at the Ireland Summer Tests when they are announced on Monday, crossed for a third before the Dragons replied via Davis, who was relegated after the visiting team raided Leinster’s No.

Lock Baird sealed the bonus point with today’s attempt, starting and completing the move and showing a real shift in pace to re-establish his team’s strong control over the competition.

Larmore then showed his wing-breaking speed in Leinster’s sixth attempt, as the county finished off with a comfortable win.

Leinster: Keenan. Larmore, Ringrose, O’Loughlin, O’Brien; R. Byrne, Gibson Park; Healy, R.; Keeler, Bent, Baird, Ryan; Vardy, Penny, Doris.

Alternatives: Tracy, Milne, Abdel-Ladza, Toner, van der Vlaer, L. McGrath, H. Burn, C. Keller.

the Dragon: Josh Louis Owen Jenkins, Aneurin Owen, Jimmy Roberts, Rio Dyer; Sam Davis, Rodry Williams (captain); Brooke Harris, Elliot Dee, Aaron Jarvis, Joe Davis, Ben Carter, Harrison Keede, Olly Griffith, Ross Moriarty.

Alternatives: Richard Hebbard, Josh Reynolds, Chris Coleman, Joe Maximio, Tyne Basham, Gonzalo Bertrano, Jack Dixon, Ewan Davis.

Rule: Mike Adamson (SRU)

Assistant Referees: Chris Busby, Eugan Cross (IRFU)

TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here