Stuart Hogg drives his new-look British and Irish Lions XV at the opening of their tour

Stuart Hogg will lead an all-new XV captain who defeated Japan 28-10 in Edinburgh last weekend to win the 1888 Vodafone Lions Cup, with the exception of Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby, Wales) who retains his spot on the left wing.

“It’s good to have arrived in Johannesburg and start the tour,” said Lions coach, Warren Gatland.

“We had a great win last week in Edinburgh, but there is still a lot we need to get right on Saturday.

“I was encouraged by the way the boys trained this week. I feel it rose to the level we were in in Jersey and we are starting to see a better understanding of some of our tactics.

“There are some new player groups for us to look at on Saturday – which is good information for us as the Test series approaches.

“My congratulations to all those who played their first game as a Lion, as well as Houji as well – and I am sure he will lead the team by example.”

British and Irish Lions vs Emirates Lions

  • Date: Saturday 3 July
  • Starting: 5 pm GMT
  • Playground: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
  • TV channel: Sky Sports Main Event (covering from 4pm)
  • Live broadcast: Sky Go . app and online at or Now TV

The Lions team to face the Emirates Lions:

15, Stuart Hogg – Captain (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland) #783

14 – Louis Reiss Zammit (Gloucester Rugby, Wales)

13. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland)

12. Owen Farrell (Muslims, England) #780

11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby, Wales) #836

10. Art Russell (Racing 92, Scotland) #835

9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) #843

1. Wayne Jones (Scarletts, Wales) No. 842

2. Jimmy George (Saracens, England) #819

3. Kyle Sinclair (Bristol Bears, England) #814

4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, England) #825

5. Johnny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, England)

6. Courtney Lawz (Northampton Saints, England) #826

7 – Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland)

8. Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby, Wales) #779


16. Luke Quan Dickey (Exeter Chiefs, England)

17. Mako Vunipola (Muslims, England) – Pillar No. 787

18 – Xander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)

19. Iain Henderson (Ulster Rugby, Ireland) #808

20 – Sam Symonds (Exeter Chiefs, England)

21 – Gareth Davis (Scarletts, Wales)

22. Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland) #837

23. Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) #822

Saturday 3 July 2021

Emirates Airline Garden, Johannesburg

Kick-off: 5pm (BST)

Editor’s Picks:

The Lions Tour 2021 matches

All kick-off times are GMT; SA organizes rugby on a no-show basis

Warm-up game before the round:

  • Saturday 26th June: against Japan Edinburgh (Murrayfield) 3 p.m

Warm-up games:

  • Saturday July 3rd: Against Emirates Black – Johannesburg (Emirates Air Park), 5pm (Sky Sports Action and main event from 4pm)
  • Wednesday 7 July: Against Sharks – Johannesburg (Emirates Air Park), 7pm (Sky Sports Action and main event from 6pm)
  • Saturday 10 July: against bulls – Pretoria, 5pm (Sky Sports Action and main event from 4pm)
  • Wednesday, July 14: Against South Africa Cape Town, 7pm (Sky Sports Action and main event from 6pm)
  • Saturday 17 July: against storms Cape Town, 5pm (Sky Sports Action 4pm, main event 5pm)

Test matches:

  • Saturday 24 July: against Springbox Cape Town, 5 p.m. (Sky Sports Action and main event from 3:30 p.m.)
  • Saturday, July 31: against Springbox Johannesburg (FNB Stadium), 5pm (Sky Sports Action and main event from 3:30pm)
  • Saturday 7 August: against Springbox Johannesburg (FNB Stadium) at 5 pm

Leave a Comment