Liverpool confirm 34-man squad to return to 1st day of pre-season – Liverpool FC

Liverpool get a group of 34 when they meet again for the first day of pre-season on Monday as preparations start for the 2021/22 campaign.

Nearly seven weeks after the end of the 2020/21 season, the Reds will be relegated on Monday with a healthy size contingent.

Unlike most years, however Jurgen Klopp will see his team reunite away from Merseyside with Liverpool starting their summer in Austria in the first of two European training camps.

This means that Austria will host again, with Salzburg as the first destination before later moving to Tyrol.

It obviously looks back on Virgil van Dijk, Joel Matip and Joe Gomez after prolonged injuries, while Trent Alexander-Arnold is also in the mix.

A first look at Ibrahima Konate is now not far away while similar Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Harvey Elliott, Near Keita, Takumi Minamino and Kostas Tsimikas will look to catch Klopp’s eye.

And Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane is ready for the season after a much needed summer vacation.

Liverpool will be without a number of key men due to their summer dividends, to which Alisson, Fabinho, Roberto Firmino and Jordan Henderson is still in the middle of.

The Brazilian contingent is preparing for the Copa America final, while the captain is only part of the second-largest English squad ever to reach the final in a major competition.

They join Andy Robertson, Thiago, Diogo Jota, xherdan Shaqiri and Neco Williams as absent the first training day, which all switch back to the team over the coming weeks.

A large number of young people are also present with right-back Conor Bradley, the exciting one Mateusz Musialowski and Kaide Gordon, who were all given an invaluable opportunity.

Liverpool’s first summer friendship is expected to take place in mid-July.

Liverpool retire for the pre-season on Monday

AustriaPreSeason9 -

Goalkeepers: Adrian, Caoimhin Kelleher, Loris Karius, Marcelo Pitaluga, Harvey Davies

Defenders: Ibrahima Konate, Virgil van Dijk, Joel Matip, Joe Gomez, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Kostas Tsimikas, Ben Davies, Rhys Williams, Nat Phillips, Billy Koumetio, Owen Beck, Conor Bradley

Midfielders: James Milner, Near Keita, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Curtis Jones, Marko Grujic, Ben Woodburn, Jake Cain, Leighton Clarkson, Kaide Gordon, Mateusz Musialowski, Tyler Morton

Attackers: Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Takumi Minamino, Divock Origi, Harvey Elliott, Taiwo Awoniyi


Leave a Comment